Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu brand newwww! honeypot

Author Topic: brand newwww!  (Read 13961 times)

Offline jmsb92

• Lurker
brand newwww!
« on: Mar 20, 2014, 10:45 »
I'm very new to the nuclear industry! I just completed my first outage as a laborer, and I have now decided to change my major in school in order to further my career in the nuclear field. I loved the environment and most all of the people that I got to work with. I was hoping that someone could offer ANY advice. I'd like to become an HP, but I haven't been very successful with my research. I'm completely clueless as to what all I need to do, so I was hoping someone with some experience could offer some words of wisdom!
Thanks ya'll! :)

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: brand newwww!
« Reply #1 on: Mar 20, 2014, 10:57 »
check your PMs,...

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

SCMasterchef

« Reply #2 on: Mar 20, 2014, 12:27 »
My advice to you, from a 43 year veteran of commercial nuclear power, is if you are still in school and are planning to change your academic curriculum in pursuit of Health Physics is to go into nuclear engineering with a minor in Health Physics.  Make sure that you put yourself in a position that with time and experience your end goal is to achieve a Masters in Health Physics or Nuclear Engineering.  Make sure you stay on the straight and narrow, keep you nose clean through college, start networking early and don't get caught up in the draw of big money because until you complete your education you are fooling yourself.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
« Reply #3 on: Mar 20, 2014, 01:31 »
Nuclear Engineering is a straightjacket,...

Mechanical or Electrical Engineering allows much more freedom of movement,...

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

Offline SloGlo