Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Questions about becoming a Navy Reactor Engineer  

Author Topic: Questions about becoming a Navy Reactor Engineer  (Read 12537 times)

Offline WK95

• Very Lite User
Questions about becoming a Navy Reactor Engineer
« on: Mar 21, 2014, 08:33 »
Hi everyone, I'm currently a freshman Mechanical Engineering major with a 3.78 GPA and I'm toying with the idea of becoming a Navy Reactor Engineer so I have some questions that I'm hoping the knowledgeable folks here can help me with.

1) In some places, the same role is called both a Reactor Engineer and a Navy Nuclear Machinist Mate. What is the difference if any or is it just a matter of title?

2) With the goal of becoming a navy reactor engineer, would NRROTC or NUPOC be the better choice? From my research, the main difference is that NRROTC is run through schools whereas NUPOC is not which is great since my college does not have it's own NRROTC program.

3) Could I apply to a 4+1 program (Get a B.Eng and a Masters in 5 years) for Mechanical Engineering or will service commitments prevent this? This wouldn't be a deal breaker by any means but it'd be nice if I could get a Masters before commissioning (Am I using the term correctly)

4) What exactly does one do to be a Nuke? Some Nukes are high school graduates while some others are required to have a college degree. I think tht to be a reactor engineer, one obviously must have a college degree right? I think thats a requirement.

5) What are your reactions to this? http://www.cracked.com/article_20871_6-things-movies-dont-show-you-about-life-submarine_p1.html

Thanks everyone.

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: Questions about becoming a Navy Reactor Engineer
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2014, 09:00 »
Reactor engineers don't work on submarines.  They work in DC on Naval Reactor design and procedures.