Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Reactors Engineer EVIP trip only for tier 1 and 2 schools honeypot

Author Topic: Navy Reactors Engineer EVIP trip only for tier 1 and 2 schools  (Read 4621 times)

Offline dwsmith

• Very Lite User
Greetings,

My question is in regards to the NR slot in the NUPOC process and school tiers.  First, I will provide some background so there is some context.  I am a graduate student who is working on a MS in Mechanical Engineering, and I currently hold a BS in Mathematics and BS in Finance.  According to NR my undergraduate institution is a tier 4 school, but my graduate school is tier 1 or tier 2.  Since my undergraduate degree is from a tier 4 school, I can't go on the EVIP trip, but I can still apply for NR engineer.

How important is the trip for applicant selection as a NR engineer?

Now, here is where I am very perplexed by the fact I can't go on the trip.  Undergraduate students who are Juniors and Seniors are allowed to apply for NUPOC.  If they go to a tier 1 or 2 school, they can go on the EVIP trip.  These students don't have a degree but just attend a school.  I have a degree and I am attending a school a tier 1 or 2 school as a graduate student, but  I can't go on the trip though.  This is practically the same scenario, but I am at a more advanced level.  How does this make sense?

If the logic of why I can't go is because my undergraduate school wasn't "good" in their eyes, then how am I able to earn a 3.6+ GPA at the institution I am at now, considering my original education was sub par?  Additionally, I have a math degree with no undergraduate engineering background, and I have completed all my MS ME course work with said GPA.  I am only at the thesis phase now.  Again, how did I get so far if I am not that good?