Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Considering a future with NUPOC honeypot

Author Topic: Considering a future with NUPOC  (Read 2081 times)

Offline Stripes7

• Lurker
Considering a future with NUPOC
« on: May 21, 2014, 05:25 »
Hello everyone! I am brand spankin' new to the forums here and have been considering the Navy as a career option. To give some context, I graduated with a degree in Biomedical Science at Marshall University in 2010 and have been working in the Biotechnology industry for the last 7 years (was working in college as well). My gpa was a meager 2.9, with a substantially higher grades over the last 2 semesters of my college career (I don't have an exact number for those years). I've decided this career path is not for me and have begun the process of applying to Arizona State Univeristy Online for an electrical engineering degree. I've searched several forum posts about the NUPOC program, but was hoping to get some updated insight that takes my personal background into account. My preference for this program would be Naval Reactor Engineer, and I had a few questions about this particular section of the program. I've read that the gpa "requirement" is 3.8, however, if I'm beginning a new degree path would this only take into account the grades I received while working towards my electrical engineering degree? Also, I'm assuming meeting the requirements of the program doesn't guarantee acceptance, so how likely is it that someone like me would even get into the program? I'm sure I'm missing other factors and considerations to take into account, and any knowledge or personal experience would be greatly appreciated.

Offline maroon

• Light User
Re: Considering a future with NUPOC
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 06:45 »
1.  Your entire college history is reviewed, and the GPA guideline of 3.8 is normally based on all colleges you have attended.