Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Most used Personal Protective Equipment honeypot

Author Topic: Most used Personal Protective Equipment  (Read 10544 times)

radready

Most used Personal Protective Equipment
« on: Mar 24, 2014, 10:49 »
Hey everyone,

I am a business owner and I am currently doing research on the nuclear industry and I'm trying to learn more about what equipment a person who works in a nuclear plant would most often use.

I have a few questions and I would be very thankful for your answers.

Do nuclear power plant workers buy their own gear or does the company supply them with everything they need as far as PPE and detectors go? Do workers ever upgrade their equipment at their own expense?

If I were working a nuclear plant what items are REQUIRED for my basic safety in all industrial areas of the plant?

I am starting a business that is related to radiation protection but I am also looking into becoming a supplier for industrial PPE as well so any information you could provide me with would be great.

Thank you!

Chimera

Re: Most used Personal Protective Equipment
« Reply #1 on: Mar 25, 2014, 09:04 »
Safety shoes - where required are either paid for by employer/site or individually purchased and reimbursed at some level - either a fixed limit or completely.

Hearing protection & safety glasses - provided

Hard hats - provided

All other equipment, i.e.., fall protection, anti-contamination clothing, disposable coveralls, tools, radiac gear, sampling media, etc. - provided

Personal outer clothing (scrubs) - provided at some sites, not provided at others

spciesla

« Reply #2 on: Mar 25, 2014, 11:19 »
Good summary by Chimera, but I have one more to add.

Gloves - Provided

However, the most important piece of PPE is between your ears.

Offline S T I G

• Moderate User
  • S T I G
« Reply #3 on: Mar 25, 2014, 03:07 »
a cup.

radready

« Reply #4 on: Mar 26, 2014, 01:39 »