Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Worth acquiring skills in nuclear D&D??? honeypot

Author Topic: Worth acquiring skills in nuclear D&D???  (Read 5748 times)

Offline skv

• Lurker
Worth acquiring skills in nuclear D&D???
« on: May 29, 2014, 12:27 »
I am a currently employed nuclear engineer (not at a power plant). I have an advanced degree in Nucl Engg and my current work focuses on reactor safety (thermal-hydraulics/neutronics/core and safety system design), accident consequence analyses, PRA and licensing support.

I am thinking about broadening my skill set and thereby my employment opportunities. Given the current (unfortunate) state of the nuclear industry, I was thinking of acquiring some training on the opposite end of my current work which made me think about D&D. I found out about a training course from Argonne National Laboratory on D&D. I do not know if the course is worth it (I will be paying out of my pocket) and would appreciate candid answers to the following questions to help me make a better decision. Any other details/input is also appreciated.

1. I have no current background, experience or knowledge of D&D. Will a training course be considered an asset on a resume? What would be some of the D&D related employment options that would be open to me after the training course? I understand that experience is key but its the old "catch-22" situation for someone like me. If a training course will not be taken seriously in the industry, what is a better way to proceed to gain knowledge and experience.

2. Are there any areas of D&D where my current experience and background can be an asset?

3. Is part-time/contract work possible in the D&D field or is full-time employment the only option? If contract work is available, can it be done as a second job (i.e. while not leaving the current one).

Given my intent, if you believe that I should not even be looking at D&D please say so. 

Thanks a lot.

Offline btkeele

• Moderate User