Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Plant Attendant Interview Help honeypot

Author Topic: Plant Attendant Interview Help  (Read 9331 times)

Offline Mschriver

• Very Lite User
Plant Attendant Interview Help
« on: May 30, 2014, 08:42 »
A little background about myself.  I have an associate's degree from Lakeland Community College in Nuclear Engineering Technology.  Since I graduated in 2009 I've been working as an RP doing MARSSIM work.  I've also been trying to get into commercial operations since 2009.  I had an interview for a Plant Attendant position at Davis-Besse in Oct 2012 and it didn't go that well (obviously).  The one question that really threw me was when they asked me to describe how the plant worked.  Since Lakeland's program is so closely intertwined with Perry about 99% of the course material was specific to BWRs.  I know the principles behind a PWR but for some reason I couldn't get my mouth and brain lined up right to explain it well. 

What I'm looking for is some sort of reference material, preferably online, that describes the specifics of Davis-Besse's reactor and associated systems.  The more specific the better.

Thanks.

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
Re: Plant Attendant Interview Help
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2014, 09:46 »
Start at the NRC website....

Offline Mschriver

• Very Lite User
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2014, 10:04 »
Start at the NRC website....

Already tried that, all I could find were generic PWR/BWR drawings. I'm going through Google results from "Babcock and Wilcox Raised Loop" now, it seems promising so far.

Offline ddickey

• Moderate User
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2014, 10:37 »
They asked you that in the interview? Doesn't sound very behavioral based, what a breath of fresh air.
I've got a lot of material on PWR's but not specific to Davis–Besse.

Offline Starkist

• Very Heavy User
« Reply #4 on: Jun 02, 2014, 05:33 »