Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Radiological Health Engineering Student

Author Topic: Radiological Health Engineering Student  (Read 5837 times)

Jamal

Radiological Health Engineering Student
« on: Jul 22, 2014, 12:51 »
Hey everyone, I am a 2nd year student at Texas A&M University studying Radiological Health Engineering which is a good mix between Health Physics and Engineering. This fall I will be entering my second year and have some decisions to make. I gained a good amount of hours in high school that transferred to college, so I have some room in my schedule to do a couple different things. I have roughly 20 "free" hours that I can do something with. The only caveat is that I currently do not know what I want to do as a career (in the nuclear field). I was looking into Health Physics or Medical Physics, but I recently shadowed a Radiation Safety Officer and a Medical Physicist that was checking the calibration of various xray machines and found both to be boring. I would rather have a job more on the engineering side of things. I'm here for some advice to see what would be the best route for me to follow. They are in no particular order.

1. Take just 12 hours a semester and graduate in 4 years with a Bachelors.
2. Double degree in Radiological Health and Nuclear Engineering (16 hours avg).
3. Double degree in Rad Health and Math (15 hours avg).
4. Minor in 2 of the 3 following Statistics, Biology, or Physics (17 hours avg).
5. Fast track master's in Health Physics adding 1 semester to my degree plan.
6. Engineering Safety Certificate and/or Therapeutic Certificate.
7. None of the above, and graduate a semester early (15 hours avg).

« Last Edit: Jul 22, 2014, 12:55 by Jamal »

Offline hamsamich

• Very Heavy User
  • And did I hear a 9er in there?
Re: Radiological Health Engineering Student
« Reply #1 on: Jul 22, 2014, 12:00 »