Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Career Path(s) Going Forward honeypot

Author Topic: Career Path(s) Going Forward  (Read 5121 times)

Offline SouthernSteel

• Lurker
Career Path(s) Going Forward
« on: Aug 12, 2014, 08:29 »
Good Evening All,

I currently work as a compliance tech for radioactive gauges for an oil company (nearly a year now), and prior to that I worked on a vehicle scanning system in Afghanistan as an RSO/Rad Safety Trainer/etc for about a year. I've now gone through and have successfully passed three separate RSO cert courses. Likely do another here in a couple of months.

I like my company well enough (which is a first for me), but there's no real room to advance from where I am. I sort of lie outside the traditional ladder to move up and there's really just no place for this position to go. As such, I have begun to consider where I can go and what I can do with my skill set/experience. I have considered that health physics is the most closely associated education option from where I am, although I already have a BA and MA (in history - yes, I know) and am not overly keen on making a further investment to that end unless the potential results are quite good and quite certain.

However, I have been advised by a consultant my company uses (for our training and specific license needs, as we are GL) that this field overall is not a good place to look or plan to go into. I have already forgotten his specific rationale, but he made it clear in no uncertain terms that it was not a place to seek (to the point he even turned his own sons away from pursuing it, and he owns the place). He is a very knowledgeable and straightforward guy, so I have no reason to doubt him, but I was certainly not expecting his answer as this field seems to be at least holding steady.