Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Ex-Navy honeypot

Author Topic: Ex-Navy  (Read 6905 times)

Offline MMKress

• Very Lite User
Ex-Navy
« on: Oct 02, 2014, 08:13 »
I am an ex-Navy Machinist Mate.  I made it to the last week of power school but was academic dropped by a tenth of a point.  I went into the conventual Navy working in the Pit on the steam plants, in the oil/fuel testing lab, and on the steam catapult system while also standing various other A Gang watches.  After leaving the Navy I finished my BA in History.  I am very interested in getting into a Power Plant job most specifically in Pennsylvania.  What would be my options and best plan of attack for getting into this profession?  I currently am a sheetmetal fabricator for a helicopter company where the company also pays for schooling in whatever field I prefer.   Thanks for the advice.

Jason

Offline retired nuke

• Family Man
  • Very Heavy User
  • No longer a nuke
Re: Ex-Navy
« Reply #1 on: Oct 02, 2014, 10:49 »
Sounds like you will be a great addition to the mechanical maintenance crew at any industrial facility. The history degree will not likely help.... but I'll bet it was interesting.
Look on the job boards here. Look at the utility websites - most large power plants only start the hiring process from their online job applications.
Is there a particular reason you want to go into a power plant? You probably have a good background / experience that would apply in almost any process industry.
Remember who you love. Remember what is sacred. Remember what is true.
Remember that you will die, and that this day is a gift. Remember how you wish to live, may the blessing of the Lord be with you

Offline fourteener

• Light User
« Reply #2 on: Oct 02, 2014, 11:25 »
Send me an email at nebraskacyclist@yahoo.com  We'll talk off-line.  I can provide some relative insights.

Offline MMKress

• Very Lite User
« Reply #3 on: Oct 02, 2014, 11:38 »