Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Few question about NUPOC

Author Topic: Few question about NUPOC  (Read 11003 times)

bmiller.3988

Few question about NUPOC
« on: Oct 03, 2014, 05:24 »
Hello guys and girls, I am a junior at Texas Tech University studying to be a mechanical engineer with a 3.81 gpa. Any way now that my back round is some what formed I have a few questions and would love to here your guys thoughts. I have been talking to a recruiter about joining the NUPOC program a few questions I have are.

1.) If i chose the ship route and not the submarine route would my tours still be 8 months on water 2 months on land and another tour and my commitment is over? How long our the tours on a ship versus a sub?

2.) Is the 15000 dollar signing bonus not a guarantee if no what are the justifications for getting that?

3.) While I finish school I will be getting paid per month as an e6 correct? Then be an officer after Officer training school?

4.) Is there any advice people who have been through the program could suggest to me whether that be chose "Instructor or Submarine or Ship" and if so whats your reasoning. I don't know if I will be making the navy a career but definitely a huge milestone for my future. Thanks guys and any other thoughts are welcome!
 +K

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: Few question about NUPOC
« Reply #1 on: Oct 03, 2014, 06:05 »
1) The SWO tours are split up into multiple mini-tours because you need to gain much more broad platform experience. So in both cases you spend about 36mo attached to a sea-going unit. For SWO, it'll be about 18 mo on a conventional ship where you get your warfare qual and an easier DIVO job. Then you'll go through the nuke pipeline and finish 24 months on a carrier in charge of a reactor department division. During the time on the carrier you'll go TAD to PNEO to qualify engineer.