Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Caesium/Cesium-137 as a calibration source

Author Topic: Caesium/Cesium-137 as a calibration source  (Read 9068 times)

Offline RFaunt

• Moderate User
Caesium/Cesium-137 as a calibration source
« on: Nov 08, 2014, 09:03 »
I'm currently a student in a Radiation Protection program in SC, and curiosity has led me to post to the forum. Can anyone explain to me or put me on the path to the answer for why Cs-137 is so widely used as a calibration source in radiation detection instruments? I know that Cs-137 decays to Ba-137m approx 95% of the time which gives off a 662 keV photon. Is there something distinct about that energy level which makes it a reliable calibration source? I've also entertained the idea that the 30.08 year half life could play a factor as well. Any direction or input would be greatly appreciated.
"If I have seen further, it is by standing on the shoulders of giants." ~ Isaac Newton

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: Caesium/Cesium-137 as a calibration source
« Reply #1 on: Nov 08, 2014, 12:08 »
You will want to familiarize yourself with the ISO 4037 series.

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

Offline HydroDave63

• Retired
« Reply #2 on: Nov 08, 2014, 01:19 »
Can anyone explain to me or put me on the path to the answer for why Cs-137 is so widely used as a calibration source in radiation detection instruments?

Might be due to being a commonly found fission fragment isotope one could encounter in a radiological facility, as opposed to F-18?  ;)

Offline roosterfitz

• Light User
« Reply #3 on: Nov 10, 2014, 07:12 »
You are absolutely correct in that it has a relatively long half life and is an actual fission product common to a nuclear plant.  It is also a conservative choice because it's photon energy is below that of the average photon energy found at a nuclear power plant. All good!