Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu First outage, couple of questions

Author Topic: First outage, couple of questions  (Read 19776 times)

Offline mikeyahearn

• Very Lite User
First outage, couple of questions
« on: Nov 30, 2014, 08:13 »
Hello, I recently was hired on for the Brunswick Nuclear plant outage starting in febuary due to a couple friends i have that work at the plant. I live locally so I've been trying to get on full time  for some time, but was hired just for the outage. Im being sent to Kings Mountain in charlotte for some testing and to get my nuke badge. However, I was wondering what I should do to continue to work other outages if the full time spot doesnt happen. Should I talk to other outage workers, or should I let my recruiter (Joey Melanson for Bartlett) that Im interested in working outages at other Duke Energy facilities. Im completely new to the nuclear world so I have ZERO experience and I'm only 20 years old. So im trying to kick off my career the best way possible and make the best decisions I can. Should I call other facilities and let them know I have a badge and just completed an outage(After the Febuary outage is over, of course.) and let them know Im interested in working at that specific site? I only have a high school education and a little bit of community college. Ill be badged and everything so I would think I would have a good chance at working other duke energy outages. Just looking for some info since im a complete noobie. Thanks for any input. BTW I am actually a housekeeping/decon tech at brunswick right now

Offline Smart People

• Rad Engineer/Shipper
  • Very Heavy User
  • I like being around smart people
Re: First outage, couple of questions
« Reply #1 on: Dec 01, 2014, 07:41 »
Talk to Joey and tell him you'll go ANYWHERE.

also find the number for DZ Atlantic recruiting.