Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NO training at OPG
honeypot

Author Topic: NO training at OPG  (Read 14756 times)

Offline gigster101

• Very Lite User
NO training at OPG
« on: Dec 06, 2014, 01:19 »
Hey , I was thinking about applying to the nuclear operating training job at OPG and I was wondering what my chances are with only a highschool diploma.
I'm currently studying Nuclear engineering and in my 2nd year . Id like to know if I should continue my studies or apply and see if i can get the job. I mean the minimum requirement is a highschool diploma and Im sure if I do well in the test and interview they might consider me .

Also how much would you be getting paid while in training ?

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: NO training at OPG
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2014, 09:27 »
I wouldn't count on getting an offer. Most licensed operator instructor positions require a degree, SRO license, or teaching experience to start. If it happens to be for NLO training, you might have a chance but I suggest finishing the degree.

Also, you're not likely to get someone to give you a pay range on a public forum.

Offline Higgs

• SRO
  • Very Heavy User
  • Life has a melody...
« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2014, 10:26 »
There is zero chance of you getting an instructor job with no degree or experience.

There's more traits that they are looking for that you didn't list. High school diploma isn't the only one. And it's a minimum, even burger flipper has it.

Justin
« Last Edit: Dec 06, 2014, 10:27 by Higgs »
"How feeble is the mindset to accept defenselessness. How unnatural. How cheap. How cowardly. How pathetic.” - Ted Nugent

Offline gigster101

• Very Lite User
« Reply #3 on: Dec 07, 2014, 05:31 »
This is what the application says

To meet the challenges of this dynamic opportunity, you must:
-successfully pass all formal examinations during the initial training period including Radiation Protection;
-be prepared to work a rotating 12-hour shift;