Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu New Naval Reactors Engineer.  

Author Topic: New Naval Reactors Engineer.  (Read 6080 times)

Offline gaven555

• Lurker
New Naval Reactors Engineer.
« on: May 05, 2014, 05:40 »
Hello,

I was recently accepted into the Naval Reactors Engineering program and I have a couple questions. I go to ODS in July and I will be sent to Naval Reactors(NR) in DC this September. This worries me because I am a chemical engineer and I have a very limited knowledge of Nuclear Reactors. During these first few months at Naval Reactors before I go to power school, what will be expected of me? I am reviewing the DOE Nuclear Physics and Reactor Theory Handbook at the moment so that I will have some background before I arrive. What else should I do to prepare myself so that I make a good impression during my first few months at NR? If you have experience with the Naval Reactors program, can you tell me what were the most difficult things that people in my position encountered?

Offline NuclearCowboy17

• Very Lite User
Re: New Naval Reactors Engineer.
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2014, 06:59 »
Congrats on the position but if you really want to know what to study i can sum it up in one word...nothing. I am not trying to sound crass or anything of the like, but NR is NR is they will mark tissue paper as classified if it has numbers on it. If I am reading this correctly you are working for NR, not going to OCS, so you will likely spend some time in Pittsburgh going to BRES will you will learn all you need to know and them some. Good Luck!!

HeavyD

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2014, 08:37 »
To followup to what NuclearCowboy17 said, if you want to make a good impression, that's fairly simple.

Show up on time, work hard, never be afraid to ask if you don't understand something.  They picked you because you showed the potential during the screening process to fit into what they need. 

Congratulations and best of luck!

Offline cheme09

• Moderate User