Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Future Nuke  

Author Topic: Future Nuke  (Read 6855 times)

Offline mtmcnair34

• Very Lite User
Future Nuke
« on: Jan 23, 2015, 06:07 »
Hello everyone,

I am new to this site and haven't seen the exact answer to my question.  I just got accepted into the Navy Nuke program and I leave for boot camp Jun 3.  I have a degree in Engineering and my GPA was a 3.1 out of 4.0,  I initially applied to become and officer and didn't make it.  I talked to my recruiter and he said that after I completed Nuke school enlisted and if I became and officer right after, I would have to go back to Nuke school in the Calculus based curriculum, which isn't a problem but that would mean that I would basically take 3-4 years of Nuke school, Algebra and Calculus based.  So my question is if I did have to go back to Nuke school when  I became an officer, would I just take a few courses that are more Calculus intensive or would I have to take every class over again?  Also at what time would I be able to start taking Master's level Nuclear Engineering courses and can I substitute Nuke School courses for some of the courses?  I don't mean to sound cocky in any type of way, I understand the Nuke School is a real intensive school Algebra or Calculus based.

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: Future Nuke
« Reply #1 on: Jan 23, 2015, 07:08 »
I talked to my recruiter and he said that after I completed Nuke school enlisted and if I became and officer right after, I would have to go back to Nuke school in the Calculus based curriculum, which isn't a problem but that would mean that I would basically take 3-4 years of Nuke school, Algebra and Calculus based. So my question is if I did have to go back to Nuke school when  I became an officer, would I just take a few courses that are more Calculus intensive or would I have to take every class over again?