Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC Age Question honeypot

Author Topic: NUPOC Age Question  (Read 7618 times)

Offline galoot

• Very Lite User
NUPOC Age Question
« on: Feb 01, 2015, 11:17 »
Hello NukeWorker,

I am a 27 year old student double majoring in Electrical Engineering and Applied Mathematics.  Thus far, I have a strong GPA and academic achievements to trumpet.  I want to serve my country, and recently, I came across the NUPOC program.  I have lurked and read some old threads, but have not come across a thread that addresses my primary concern in regard to my eligibility for the program.  As previously mentioned, I am 27, and I noticed that the Navy wishes their participants to be commissioned by their 29th year.  However, I have also seen that there exists an age waiver.  How often is this waiver awarded?  Do older applicants such as myself face a tougher path to being accepted into the program?

If any members here could comment on what they know, I would be very appreciative.

galoot
« Last Edit: Feb 01, 2015, 11:18 by galoot »

Offline spekkio

• Very Heavy User
Re: NUPOC Age Question
« Reply #1 on: Feb 02, 2015, 01:58 »
The age waiver is typically only given to prior enlisted applicants as a 1-for-1 match up to 2 years of service.

Offline galoot

• Very Lite User
« Reply #2 on: Feb 02, 2015, 10:56 »
Thanks for the response.  I don't quite understand.  If one is enlisted, they generally are not a college student, are they?  The luxury of NUPOC seems to be that one does not have to be enlisted during their schooling.
« Last Edit: Feb 02, 2015, 11:12 by galoot »

Offline maroon

• Light User
« Reply #3 on: Feb 02, 2015, 09:16 »
Actually, age waivers up to 31 have commonly been given for highly qualified NUPOC applicants regardless of prior enlisted service status.  This is different from most other OCS programs, which require prior service for an age waiver.