Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Changing the Career- Entering into Nuke industry

Author Topic: Changing the Career- Entering into Nuke industry  (Read 4907 times)

Offline saku

• Very Lite User
Changing the Career- Entering into Nuke industry
« on: Apr 02, 2015, 10:16 »
First of all, I would like to say "Hello" to everybody. I am a newbie entering into this field. I have few questions & dilemma about the career. I hope some one will help me out.

1) I am on my early 30s and have 7 years of civil engineering experience. I have recently got an offer from Souther Nuclear Plant Vogtle 1 & 2. How are these plants?

2) Currently i work for a government where I have no stress at all. I just have to work 40 hrs a week and have very good work life balance. I have been offered a salary which is 24K more than my current salary. If i include my bonus, it will be $32k more. I will have pension at both places. But at Southern nuclear i will have 5% 401K too which is awesome. Do you think its worth it to change the career from no stress job to nuke field for this amount? I will have to move out of state. How is the stress level at Nuke? Is it really bad? How is the work life balance?

3) It looks like the plant is middle of nowhere. It will be one hour 15 mins commute from Augusta, GA. Is it something practical to do everyday? Right now i only have 30 mins commute.

4) How is the job perspective of this career?

I know i am asking lots of questions. I am extremely sorry for that and like to thanks everyone in advance . I appreciate all of you guys help.
« Last Edit: Apr 02, 2015, 10:27 by saku »

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: Changing the Career- Entering into Nuke industry
« Reply #1 on: Apr 03, 2015, 08:26 »
1) No data as I don't work there. Hopefully someone else can weigh in on this.