Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Navy Nuke program  

Author Topic: Navy Nuke program  (Read 20687 times)

Offline NukeYorker

• Very Lite User
Navy Nuke program
« on: May 16, 2015, 09:31 »
Hey guys I have been reading a ton of the post on nukeworker and had a few questions as a person new to all of this.

First I wanted to give a little bit of information on my background.

Currently I am a full-time college sophomore who is struggling paying for school. I am studying mechanical engineering technology but am attending a private school and having trouble financially. I am also working full time which keeps me from focusing 100% on my school work. I am still somehow barely managing a 3.5 gpa. My living situation is currently pretty non existent since i am moving from place to place every couple of weeks due to my mom getting an unexpected eviction recently. It's all hard to manage. I have been interested in the military since 6th grade and always saw it as something I wanted to pursue. A few weeks back I talked to a navy recruiter and learned about the nuclear program. I took the asvab a couple days back and scored a 92 AFQT score and a 247 NUC. I now have to take a NAPT because I qualify for the Nuclear Program for enlisted. Since I have 50 college credits I am joining the Navy as an E3. Forgot to mention the reason I can not afford living is because all my money goes to paying off school, transportation, and food. I am also currently $18,000 debt for student loans and i have not yet to get my associates degree.

So now to my questions:
1) Is the nuclear program a good route for me to go.
2) How is the transition from Nuclear School to actually Earning a nuclear engineering degree?
3) Should I dismiss going for a mechanical engineering degree and go for a nuclear engineering degree?
4) Besides STA-21 what other options do i have for earning my college degree and becoming an officer?