Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I want to apply for the Naval Reactors Engineer position, but I have two Cs honeypot

Author Topic: I want to apply for the Naval Reactors Engineer position, but I have two Cs  (Read 11148 times)

Offline HiThere

• Very Lite User
I am a junior mechanical engineering student that is going to have some controls system focus (by taking several EE courses and an embedded system/software course). I wish to apply for the NR engineering since I have a minor interest in nuclear engineering (not enough to major in it due to uncertain job prospects), I understand how mechanical and controls engineering applies to reactor design/maintenance, and I want to serve the United States.

Regarding my academics, I have Cs in two engineering courses, and a B- in C/C++ programming. My overall GPA is 3.30.

I understand that the NR Engineering requires at least Bs in all technical courses. Although my recruiter stated that the academic requirements could be waived, I consider that to be very unlikely.

I did have a significant amount of engineering work and student experiences:

-I am involved with SAE Baja and AIAA. I was designing a solid-fuel powered rocket for AIAA's upcoming national rocket launch competition, until I received an co-op offer that I couldn't refuse.

-I had a co-op with a car manufacturing company this year, and was given a major controls system programming project by my mentor during my first few weeks. He told me that I was the manager of the project, and to drive the point home, I have personally seen him tell a line engineer and IT engineer that they were to take orders from me, a sophomore engineering student.

Here's what was on my resume (regarding the co-op) when I gave it to the recruiter:

•   Responsible for an automated monitoring project, estimated to save over $3 million yearly
•   Organized training for three engineers to continue implementing the monitoring project on other production lines