Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu New to Radiation Safety honeypot

Author Topic: New to Radiation Safety  (Read 3371 times)

Offline Shepcon

• Lurker
New to Radiation Safety
« on: Sep 17, 2015, 08:19 »
Hi everyone,

My name is Andrew, and I'm just starting out in the radiation safety area. I'm in school at Algonquin College in the Radiation Safety Technician (http://www.algonquincollege.com/pembroke/program/radiation-safety) right now. I'm not entirely sure what I want my career path to be right now, but I'm very excited and I'd love to hear from some people that have experience and advice to share!

Offline Bonds 25

• Very Heavy User
  • HP Tech......Well Thats My Title Anyways.
Re: New to Radiation Safety
« Reply #1 on: Sep 17, 2015, 09:23 »
Yes, do tons of research on the benefits of Nuclear Power. Then learn to incorporate that into Radiation Safety. If you are not interested in the Nuclear Power path and choose, say medical, than incorporate the benefits of the exposures given for these life saving tests and procedures into Radiation Safety......or just follow this statement.

It takes a MASSIVE amount of acute Radiation to cause significant damage to one's body. The benefits from Radiation exposure, via Nuclear Power or medical treatments and testing FAR OUTWEIGH the negatives.

I happily receive 400-1000 mrem ever year because I heavily support Nuclear Power and have done enough research (outside of the ALARA concept) to understand this "additional" (we are exposed to radiation every second of our existence....and ARE radioactive) radiation exposure is not an actual health risk.
"But I Dont Wanna Be A Pirate" - Jerry Seinfeld

Offline Shepcon

• Lurker
« Reply #2 on: Sep 17, 2015, 10:08 »