Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Need some advice honeypot

Author Topic: Need some advice  (Read 18308 times)

Offline chemEnuke

• Light User
Need some advice
« on: Oct 14, 2015, 02:43 »
My situation right now is thinking about committing 6 years of my life to be a Navy Nuke and going through the process of becoming a Officer. I am a senior in an accredited NJ school majoring in Chemical Engineering where i have a year left to get my degree and this is when i approached the Navy Officer Recruiter at the local career fair. My GPA is a 3.0 and i had one internship at PSEG to start a career path in Nuclear/Energy. I have personally talked to a Navy vet for over 20 years and another friend who went through the NUPOC program recently, both who told me the benefits and downfalls.

My main concern is if i serve 6 & get out, how is the career outlook afterwards? My goal is if going through with the Navy so i can get the benefit of being around a nuclear plant and then finding a job in this sector back in the civilian world. Can this process really achieve my goal? From what i assume, i would be gaining a set of leadership skills and being able to serve the country and then after if i decide to not resign, i would leave and land a top engineering job at a nuclear plant because of my experience and skills. I appreciate everyone's input and need everything i could get to make a decision. I also don't know if this is relevant  but i am very interested in being a sub officer.  
« Last Edit: Oct 14, 2015, 06:51 by chemEnuke »

HeavyD

Re: Need some advice
« Reply #1 on: Oct 14, 2015, 04:08 »
As a Nuke SWO or Nuke Sub officer, you'll do very close to zero work that an engineering department in the civilian sector would equate to engineering experience.

You would be better positioned to be a Direct SRO than an engineer.