Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Submarine Deployment honeypot

Author Topic: Submarine Deployment  (Read 12610 times)

Offline Tylor

• Moderate User
Submarine Deployment
« on: Nov 04, 2015, 11:33 »
I've looked through the website, and found some good information on going underway, but the last posts appear to be from 2009, and I'm assuming are at least a little outdated.

I'm going to my first boat, a 688, and have been told that I'll be going on an underway very shortly after I arrive. I was wondering if anyone out there had any advice for me as far as packing, the qual process, or life in general on a submarine. I was a staff instructor at prototype, so I've done some advanced quals and had time to talk to some sea returnees about the process. Unfortunately, most everyone I come in contact with at work are from boomers, and I haven't had much interaction with fast attack sailors.

How much room am I going to have on the boat? Should I bring a full seabag? 2 full seabags?
With the recent navadmin change for coveralls, what will my underway uniform be? I'm really hoping it's not just all NWUs.

I appreciate any and all advice, and if anyone has links to forums I haven't found during my search I'd appreciate it.
« Last Edit: Nov 05, 2015, 09:47 by Tylor »
"There are no extraordinary men... just extraordinary circumstances that ordinary men are forced to deal with." -Admiral William Halsey

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
Re: Submarine Deployment
« Reply #1 on: Nov 05, 2015, 09:38 »
First is your boats movements are sensitive information when, where, and how long should not be generally public.

http://www.slideshare.net/mcponpao/classification-policy-for-ship-and-ssn-movements

Offline Tylor

• Moderate User
« Reply #2 on: Nov 05, 2015, 09:48 »
ThanK you, I edited my post to be much less specific.