Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Going Navy AE to civi nuke advice.

Author Topic: Going Navy AE to civi nuke advice.  (Read 4632 times)

Offline teamuser17

• Lurker
Going Navy AE to civi nuke advice.
« on: Nov 12, 2015, 10:06 »
I want a job in the nuclear field. No idea why I all of sudden wanted to do this. I am guessing aviation is just to easy and I getting bored. I have no experience in the nuclear field, and only have a high school diploma. I been an AE for 7 years now going on 8. I plan to get out in august of 2016. I would prefer a permanent job at the facility in Crystal River, FL. Pretty much where I want to own my forever home.
How would I go about starting this career path on a short term goal? (meaning no real time for even a applied science degree, etc)
What jobs would you recommend me applying for at a nuclear facility?
How can I stand out to these companies from others?
Also whatever other advice you have would be greatly appreciated.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: Going Navy AE to civi nuke advice.
« Reply #1 on: Nov 12, 2015, 11:20 »
I want a job in the nuclear field. No idea why I all of sudden wanted to do this. I am guessing aviation is just to easy and I getting bored. I have no experience in the nuclear field, and only have a high school diploma. I been an AE for 7 years now going on 8. I plan to get out in august of 2016. I would prefer a permanent job at the facility in Crystal River, FL. Pretty much where I want to own my forever home.
How would I go about starting this career path on a short term goal? (meaning no real time for even a applied science degree, etc)
What jobs would you recommend me applying for at a nuclear facility?
How can I stand out to these companies from others?
Also whatever other advice you have would be greatly appreciated.

the Crystal River nuclear plant is broken beyond cost effective repair and will not be an operating power plant,... ever again.