Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Best Path for a college grad? honeypot

Author Topic: Best Path for a college grad?  (Read 5700 times)

Offline LazySundayDaze

• Lurker
Best Path for a college grad?
« on: Dec 14, 2015, 11:48 »
Hello everyone, I just found this forum today and it looks like there is a lot of helpful advice going around so I figured I would make an account to post my situation.

Tomorrow night I am taking my last exam before graduating with a Bachelor of Science in Philosophy. I am 23 years old and about a week away from visiting MEPS and soon enlisting in the Navy. My goal is to eventually become an officer in Nuclear Propulsion. Because of my degree I have no real academic background in mathematics, but I want to eventually earn another bachelor's degree in nuclear engineering. Long-term (10+ years) I want to transition back to the civilian sector and probably work in the energy industry.

What I want to know is what it takes to transition from enlisted to officer after A school and any other necessary training. If I want to work in nuclear propulsion do I need to qualify for STA-21, or is there a path I am missing? What sort of timeline am I looking at to earn a 2nd bachelor's degree - and should I do that through STA-21 or on my own while enlisted? Any advice I can get will be greatly appreciated.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
Re: Best Path for a college grad?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15, 2015, 03:41 »
Hello everyone, I just found this forum today and it looks like there is a lot of helpful advice........

there is,....

go here,...

https://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php/board,66.0.html

use the search function,...

your situation and aspiration has been advised upon numerous times,...

historically and contemporaneously,...

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
« Reply #2 on: Dec 15, 2015, 05:37 »