Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I'm In Ops At A Refinery. What Do I Need To Do To Get On As a Nuclear Operator? honeypot

Author Topic: I'm In Ops At A Refinery. What Do I Need To Do To Get On As a Nuclear Operator?  (Read 24235 times)

Offline MisplacedHog

• Light User
I'm baffled.  I recently applied for an AO position (there were 20 openings) at a nuke facility in my home state (Arkansas).  I've been an operator for close to two years at a refinery, completed my Process Technology degree (with a 4.0 GPA), have a B.S degree, have a stable work history, and even have written glowing references and great work feedback that I uploaded as part of my resume package.

I wasn't even invited to an interview.  I am beyond stunned.  What am I missing here?  What do I need to do?  Is it my lack of nuclear experience?  I figured being an operator plus having the Process Technology degree would have been enough to at least get an interview.

What do I need to do?  I'm trying to get my family back home, but it appears that will never happen.  Thanks for any help/feedback.
« Last Edit: Mar 03, 2016, 12:10 by MisplacedHog »

Offline ddickey

• Moderate User
Before I read your second to last sentence I was going to ask why you'd want to.
Who knows why. You are more than qualified considering an AO is an entry level job.

Offline Rerun

• Heavy User