Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Older guy, looking at NUPOC honeypot

Author Topic: Older guy, looking at NUPOC  (Read 5495 times)

Offline Enkaybee

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Older guy, looking at NUPOC
« on: Jun 01, 2016, 03:17 »
Hello everyone. I've been reading this forum as well as other sources of information about the NUPOC program trying to figure out of it's right for me. I've talked to an officer recruiter as well. I haven't been able to find anyone else in my exact situation so I figured I'd make a post with all the relevant information.

I'm a month short of 28 years old
I have a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering with a 3.35 GPA (graduated in 2011)
I was recently laid off from a design job that I didn't find particularly rewarding and I'm having trouble finding a new job, design or otherwise
I'm in excellent physical shape

I'm looking at NUPOC because I see it as kind of a fresh start. I've wanted to be a power plant operator since college, but that's not the kind of job that they just give you when you don't have experience operating a power plant. It doesn't have to be a nuclear plant, but in any case I haven't found a way to get training other than NUPOC. Of course I would have to give 6 years to the Navy, but in theory it will be time spent doing something meaningful and will earn me the experience I need once I return to the private sector.

Thoughts? Do many people my age do this? Is there a better way to get into the field than going through the Navy? Am I an idiot for even considering this? I'm happy to hear anything you have to say on the matter.

Thanks.

Offline BrianScott87

• Moderate User
Re: Older guy, looking at NUPOC
« Reply #1 on: Jun 01, 2016, 04:58 »