Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Recent college graduate with chemistry, enlisted for nuke. What can I expect? honeypot

Author Topic: Recent college graduate with chemistry, enlisted for nuke. What can I expect?  (Read 4660 times)

Offline ptrain95

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Hi everyone!

I am a recent college graduate and received my degree in chemistry. I leave for bootcamp in December (decided to enlist because I am interested in both sides of enlisted and officer.) I am curious how A School, Nuclear Power School, and Nuclear Prototype School compares to college learning. I have read to not necessarily forget what I learned but not to count on using what I learned because it's not the "navy way". Would it be useful to go back and review some general concepts in chemistry, physics, calculus, etc? In addition, I am not really much informed on what to expect in prototype portion of Nuke School. I have read about a few things on it but I am more interested in information on surviving through prototype school.

Thanks!

HeavyD

Power school is the equivalent of a 2 yr Nuclear Associates program delivered in a 6 month time frame, with the added bonus of having your job changed on you if your academic performance is poor.

Best of luck and thank you for volunteering to serve!

Offline Rerun

• Heavy User
No it aint anywhere near a two year associates. Its a bunch of concepts taught in a certain way. Learn and regurgitate it their way and you will be fine.

Offline ipregen

• Moderate User