Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu CHP, PhD in-between Outages  

Author Topic: CHP, PhD in-between Outages  (Read 3527 times)

Offline JenniferBergeron

• Lurker
CHP, PhD in-between Outages
« on: Aug 10, 2016, 02:28 »
I am looking for some advice (from a nuke perspective) on becoming a Certified Health Physicist in-between outages. My B.S. is in Biology. I also have some graduate course work from when I was a genetics biologist. Currently I am a junior health physics technician with an additional A.A.S. in Engineering technology, with focus on radiation protection. I made such a drastic switch in careers because, at the time, I was beating cancer while trapped in the gap of the health care system. I let myself become convinced that being a RP was a good, quick way to make some fast money, ha ha. I absolutely LOVE everything about being an RP.  My only problem is (just like everyone else) is actually finding enough work. I am afraid to solicit any more information from schools, as I fear their only intent is to liberate me from more tuition money. So my question is this: How can a JHP become a CHP in the commercial nuclear environment? I am even open to a PhD path somewhere within the nuclear safety culture. I do use The Health Physics Society as a resource, but I have a feeling there may me some untapped wisdom on this website  8)

Offline bsdnuke

• Moderate User
  • I love NukeWorker.com!
Re: CHP, PhD in-between Outages
« Reply #1 on: Aug 10, 2016, 08:02 »
Jennifer, Being a JHP with a goal of CHP could be a problem because it may not be viewed by AAHP as professional experience. I suggest you go to the web site to see what the education and experience requirement is. Another alternative is a HP position in government perhaps? There are a few on USAJOBs that you could apply for. The downside is full time for as much as you can make in a few outages.