Reference, Questions and Help > Computer Help

Publishing program

<< < (2/3) > >>

Marlin:

--- Quote from: GLW on Sep 18, 2016, 01:38 ---You need to sharpen your "meld" skill set.

Microsoft offers a comprehensive AND very widely used suite of products with the ability to move from editor to word to excel to visio to publisher to pwp, etc., etc., etc,....

Microsoft advantages - easily self taught, widely familiar and utilized by dam near everybody,...

Microsft disadvantages - it's microsoft, with all that implies....

alternatives:

Viva

Xara

Serif

best of the above bunch (and priciest IIRC) is Serif,...

biggest things to keep in mind are:

ability to import, edit and export between .pdf, .doc and PSDs,...

your computer power: speed, memory, disk space, graphics,....

great software on less than great hardware is a waste of time and money,....

adequate software (like microsoft's) on a great hardware platform will be fun,...

--- End quote ---

Serif was on top of a couple of ratings sites I'll look further into it.

GLW:

--- Quote from: Marlin on Sep 18, 2016, 01:41 ---Serif was on top of a couple of ratings sites I'll look further into it.

--- End quote ---

sooooooooooo,...

short version -

go with micrsoft software on an awesome hardware platform,...

because if you had to come here to ask, microsoft is your speed,... :P :) ;) 8)

Marlin:
Serif's publisher is PagePlus, I downloaded the free version to test drive it and go through the tutorials. I will give you some feedback after I have used it a bit.

Marlin:

--- Quote from: GLW on Sep 18, 2016, 01:43 ---
sooooooooooo,...

short version -

go with micrsoft software on an awesome hardware platform,...

because if you had to come here to ask, microsoft is your speed,... :P :) ;) 8)

--- End quote ---

Looking for a home program used plenty of programs at work. So far PagePlus looks good.

Rennhack: