Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Is my career in real danger soon? Nuclear promise, commercial nuke future, etc. honeypot

Author Topic: Is my career in real danger soon? Nuclear promise, commercial nuke future, etc.  (Read 10103 times)

Offline Coolestower

• Very Lite User
So anyone who works in this industry has probably been hearing at least some about the strain our industry is facing right now. The pressure from natural gas prices is causing a great challenge for nuclear power to remain profitable. Unfortunately, this has gone on so long now that there is a big push to get cost down which involves largely cutting staff along with other streamlining processes (reduced outages, training, etc) I work as a contractor myself, so the duration of outages was already short as is, and is only getting worse.

With all that said, the climate in the plants i've worked in all seem very dire, with the company reps saying the industry is in a downward spiral, contractor leads threatening us saying only short outages from here on, telling us how screwed we are.. All while telling us to stay working for them, it's all very strange feeling. I'm not sure if i'm missing the obvious warning sign to just try and find a new job, or if there is a reasonable chance that things will remain alright?

Fact of the matter is, both myself and my wife work in this industry, we are recently new home owners, medical bills, etc, the stresses of money have never felt so strong to us, and all during a time our industry is telling us how bad things are going to get, it's a very scary feeling.

I wanted to inquire on the wisdom here, to see perspective on what the situation is, is likely to become, etc. I'm not looking for false hope, but just a reasonable opinion of what is going to happen and I guess, if things are really going away, the estimated timeframe for when things will begin to collapse if they do, and how that would pan out for contractors.