Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Becoming a Navy Nuclear Reactors Engineer

Author Topic: Becoming a Navy Nuclear Reactors Engineer  (Read 3628 times)

Offline sfinnswim

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Becoming a Navy Nuclear Reactors Engineer
« on: Oct 06, 2016, 09:34 »
I am a sophomore Mechanical Engineering student at Carnegie Mellon University.  I have always been interested in joining the navy and after learning about the program, I am interested in becoming a Navy Nuclear Reactors Engineer.  I currently have a 3.76 GPA and have had a decent amount of leadership experience.  I am also a swimmer and am fairly active.  I was wondering if anyone knew if I had a good chance of being accepted into the program.  I met with a recruiter and they thought I would be somewhat competitive.  If anyone who has been accepted or in the program has any information they could share, I would greatly appreciate it! 

Thanks,
Shannon

Offline Matt

• Light User
Re: Becoming a Navy Nuclear Reactors Engineer
« Reply #1 on: Oct 09, 2016, 12:24 »
Based on your GPA, school, and major you are fairly competitive for the program.  To get a definitive answer have your recruiter submit you for an "academic prescreen", all he will need is your college transcripts and SAT/ACT scores.  The academic prescreen will come to my office and we then forward them to Naval Reactors (NR) for review, the process usually takes less than a week.

To become a Naval Reactors Engineer (NRE) you will need to be within 18 months of graduation, so as a Sophomore and assuming you graduate in May 2019, you will need to wait until December 2017 to join the program.  If you decided to join as a Submarine Officer, Surface Warfare Officer, or Instructor you could be accepted in to the program 30 months prior to graduation, which would be this December.