Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Getting out after prototype with 3 years in, any advice?
honeypot

Author Topic: Getting out after prototype with 3 years in, any advice?  (Read 5710 times)

Offline MarkBond

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
So long story short I joined the navy at 18, I broke my leg after powerschool, and 8months later was made fit for full duty and sent to prototype. I graduated prototype as an electrician but failed the next 2 PRTs and now I'm being sent out before going to the fleet. I know I don't have any fleet experience or anything like that and I didn't see any other posts that helped my situation but basically my question is can I still get a decent job without fleet experience and if so where should I start looking? Any help or information to at least help point me in any direction will be greatly appreciated, thanks

Offline Ksheed

• Very Lite User
Re: Getting out after prototype with 3 years in, any advice?
« Reply #1 on: Oct 13, 2016, 04:11 »
IBEW

Offline MarkBond

• Lurker
« Reply #2 on: Oct 13, 2016, 08:25 »
I'll definitely look into that, thanks. Does what I've learned over the past 3 years about being an electrician apply to the civilian world at all or is there some classes or anything I need to take? I don't have any type of degree, just the nuke pipeline

Offline a|F

• Moderate User
« Reply #3 on: Oct 13, 2016, 10:01 »
Why wouldn't you go to school?

HeavyD

« Reply #4 on: Oct 14, 2016, 08:16 »
Sounds like you were in long enough to qualify for the Post 9/11 GI Bill.

Advice?  Go to college, get your degree.

This will most likely be a repeating theme.

Best of luck!

Offline ipregen

• Moderate User
« Reply #5 on: Oct 14, 2016, 08:23 »
You can check with almost any kind of utility company (gas, hydro, transmission). You don't mention where you live but electric utilities are everywhere.