Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Mechanical engineer to nuclear equipment operator or college?  

Author Topic: Mechanical engineer to nuclear equipment operator or college?  (Read 3752 times)

Offline Idks16

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
 Hi
 I am currently working at a small HVAC company in NYC but I don't like sitting in a office all the time and I only got a 3k raise from 47k. There are no company benefits like health insurance and 401k. I graduated with a BSME in DEC 2015 and have been working there for 1yr and 3 months. I have a interview with Exelon next week for a nuclear equipment operator position in upstate NY at RE Ginna power plant. I also wanted to go back to college for my masters or another degree. I was thinking about a nursing degree but I don't know if that will work with the nuclear equipment operator hours because of the 12hr shifts day or night. I also have to think about the cost of relocating and buying a car since there is no public transportation to the plant (according to google maps) and I currently live with my parents so I don't pay rent. I also still have 20k student loans left to payoff.

Here are my questions:
 1. Will I have time to go back to college for a nursing degree or another degree?
 2. What is the wage of a nuclear equipment operator in NY?
 3. Is it worth it financially to accept the job and relocate upstate?
 4. what is the daily life of a nuclear equipment operator and is the job enjoyable?

Offline ddickey

• Moderate User
1. No
2. Fully qualified ~ $43+
3. Yes
4. Not even going there

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
I was going to answer, but couldn't stop laughing after the first question. I'm also in PA, so I don't know what NPOs/NLOs make in NY.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...

3. Yes

just so long as this is your idea of a lovely winter:

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"