Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu A car for prototype

Author Topic: A car for prototype  (Read 4965 times)

Offline PSherman42WallabyWay

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
A car for prototype
« on: Apr 05, 2017, 12:19 »
Hello,
I graduated Power School last Friday and am headed up to Ballston Spa for prototype. I live in Brooklyn, NY, so I decided to stay at home for a little bit before heading up to check in.

For a long time, I've known that prototype is the phase in our training where we're expected to have a car. At the least, I'm positive we will need it at some point during prototype. However, I heard that the first 7 weeks of prototype is classroom instruction, much like an extension of Power School, and that for these first 7 weeks, especially for Ballston Spa, we will be mandated to carpool due to the limited parking spots.

I do not own a car yet, and I did not purchase one while in Charleston. I had the intention of taking care of this while in Power School, but honestly, I was getting completely eaten alive by the schoolwork, especially towards the end.

My plan was to perhaps wire transfer our sign-on bonus (the first 1/3 and the 2/3 after prototype) to my dad to take his Civic at home up with me, and let him handle leasing out a new car since he has much more experience with that than I do. However, I think I've realized my family may urgently need two cars at home while I'm gone.

Does anyone know the extent to which we'll have to carpool while we're up there for those first 7 weeks of instruction? My roommates are all from the power school class we graduated from; we're all the same rate and I'm guessing we will all start class together. They each have cars, and if I bring my Civic up, that'll be 3 cars to one household.