Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC Program  

Author Topic: NUPOC Program  (Read 9421 times)

Offline Sam.E96

• Very Lite User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
NUPOC Program
« on: May 29, 2017, 10:24 »
Hey all,

I know there are probably many threads similar to this one, but I just wanted to ask a few quick questions about the NUPOC program.
I am a Mechanical Engineering student and am currently considering the NUPOC program. I was just wondering a few things.

1. What is the work environment like? (is it like any other desk job?, I know this varies but general examples would be good.)
2. What is starting pay like after school?
3. Is the work intellectually stimulating or monotonous and repetitive?
4. Is the experience I get valued in civilian industry?

I would appreciated any help.

Kind Regards,
Sami Elhag

Offline ComradeRed1308

• Light User
Re: NUPOC Program
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2017, 06:26 »
J just got out of the Navy after joining through the NUPOC program back in 2011. So to answer your questions...

1.  There's 3 positions you can apply for through NUPOC: Naval Reactors Engineer, Power School Instructor, or Nuclear Line Officer (Submarine or Surface)

Naval Reactors is probably the closest to a normal civilian engineering job. You get commissioned as an officer in the Navy, but you work in Washington DC helping design reactors for the Navy.  This is the most difficult job to get into (they are extremely selective), I've heard it can be pretty tough, but you're going home every night.  After 5 years, you are separated from the Navy and may continue to work for Naval Reactors as a civilian.  This should provide very valuable engineering experience and should serve you well in an engineering career even if you decide Naval Reactors isn't where you want to be long term.