Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Newbie questions

Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 4804 times)

Offline dclements

• Very Lite User
Newbie questions
« on: Oct 07, 2017, 12:28 »
Hello, I'm a former IT person trying to get into the nuclear industry. Right now I'm merely taking nuclear power courses at a nearby college and on friendly terms with the professors there but I'm slightly nervous as to what my chances are when I graduate. From what I can tell many of the kids that are taking classes and working either are scholarship students (ie get money/work from the program they are in) or are in the program because one of their parents work at the nearby nuclear plant.

Also I may not be able to get in because I have a disability (chronic pain) and unable to perform the same level of work as someone without my condition, which of course adds an extra layer of complexity for me in getting any job. Part of the reason I'm thinking of continuing my degree is perhaps my training with in some way offset my physical issues but sometimes I'm unsure that will be enough since there are already enough people with healthy bodies and smart minds that work in the industry.

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: Newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: Oct 07, 2017, 05:39 »
It might be tough to get an Ops position, and depending on the chronic pain, you may not want that anyhow, however all nuke plants, or at least parent companies, have an IT department, which might be a better fit. I'd recommend looking at some COMPTIA/CISCO certifications if you want to go that route and don't already have them.

TVA

« Reply #2 on: Oct 07, 2017, 08:33 »
As maintenance, ops or radcon the answer is most likely no

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
« Reply #3 on: Oct 07, 2017, 08:52 »