Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Bettis Reactor Engineering School (BRES) Info?? honeypot

Author Topic: Bettis Reactor Engineering School (BRES) Info??  (Read 4371 times)

Offline bevans

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Bettis Reactor Engineering School (BRES) Info??
« on: Nov 29, 2017, 02:45 »
I am a college student graduating this May and am eligible for the Nuclear Reactor Engineering program in Washington D.C.

Before moving on with the application process, I wanted to find out a bit more about it. I haven't been able to find out much about the Bettis Engineering School, besides the sort of courses it offers, and the fact that it is about 6 months long.

Does it resemble attending a technical university? Or is it like 'engineering bootcamp'? I am particularly curious if I would be able to visit my significant other on weekends, since the school is a 6 month commitment. One person mentioned that it might resemble more of a 9 to 5 job than a typical university.

Please help! :D

atomicarcheologist

Re: Bettis Reactor Engineering School (BRES) Info??
« Reply #1 on: Nov 29, 2017, 05:19 »
It has been awhile since I was at Bettis, but I don't remember a school per se. Naval personnel and Bettis Lab people worked there, as well as contractors. There were some technical training there, but the only aspect I knew was the RCT training, which was in accordance with and certified to Navy Shipyard standards.
I think you would need to become an employee of the Lab or join the Navy to attend whatever school it is which you are interested.

Offline bevans

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Re: Bettis Reactor Engineering School (BRES) Info??
« Reply #2 on: Nov 29, 2017, 07:43 »