Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Naval Aviator to Nuke  

Author Topic: Naval Aviator to Nuke  (Read 12225 times)

Offline Tucker10

• Very Lite User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Naval Aviator to Nuke
« on: Dec 14, 2017, 05:09 »
You guys (especially the ex Navy nukes) should have fun with this one...

I am a current Naval Aviator. I have done very well in the Navy, but the deployments have been rough on the family. I recently had a discussion with a submarine friend of mine who was talking about how he was heavily recruited by some nuclear power companies. I instantly became interested in the line of work.

My question is this - I have a B.A. degree, with very little science and math background. Do I even have a chance? As an officer, I certainly have developed leadership skills and learned how to fly and operate advanced systems, but do they even care about that?

My second question is - I've been searching the terms "auxiliary operator" and "non licensed operator" for companies in the mid-Atlantic region (where I want to live and work) - but I'm not seeing any openings. Am I searching using the wrong terms? Or are there just no openings? I would like to work as a non licensed reactor operator at a plant and work up to becoming a licensed reactor operator.

« Last Edit: Dec 14, 2017, 05:16 by Tucker10 »

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: Naval Aviator to Nuke
« Reply #1 on: Dec 14, 2017, 05:33 »
Dominion Energy (Virginia) uses the title Control Room Operator - Nuclear. You could also look for nuclear operator or equipment operator. If you search on indeed.com or nuclearstreet.com, you'll probably find something.

Offline hamsamich

• Very Heavy User
  • And did I hear a 9er in there?
« Reply #2 on: Dec 14, 2017, 05:43 »