Career Path > Nuclear Operator

Getting my foot in the door - M.S. in Physics, no experience, career changer

(1/2) > >>

quanta137:
My wife and I have been reading through tons of threads, trying to educate ourselves about the nuclear industry. It seems like it is a tough industry to get into, and I was hoping someone could help me figure out how to improve my chances.

I have an M.S. in Physics, though I have taken all the PhD coursework, as well. I have a high GPA. For the last 8 years, I have been teaching high school science and math. I am wanting to change careers and would especially like to move to the north east, to be closer to family. Currently, I am living in Las Vegas.

I would like to become an NLO, eventually becoming licensed. However, I have no experience in the industry. I have a wife, also a teacher, and 2 young children, so getting my foot in the door by taking a job, such as a janitor (mentioned in other threads on this site), just wouldn't pay the bills.

I am open to other positions, as well.

I took an old version of the POSS test (untimed) and scored 98% my first attempt (my first try I didn't realize how it worked). I will continue practicing for the timed version so I am prepared if I am able to get that far. I am also studying the STAR interview process. But these things will only help if I can get noticed in the fist place.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to help me stand out? Are there any online courses I can take that would get companies to look at me? Will my age work against me? Also, I was wondering if there's a particular time of year I should be looking for listings?