Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu SRO Life Balance  

Author Topic: SRO Life Balance  (Read 8716 times)

Offline Jimbo32

• Very Lite User
SRO Life Balance
« on: Feb 07, 2018, 07:32 »
I'm thinking about putting my hat in the ring for instant SRO. I'm an engineer with about 9 years of experience, 7 at my plant. I was asked to go into ops a few years ago, and I turned it down because it wasn't what I wanted at the time.

Now I'm thinking about it again. I don't have any problems with the duties/responsibilities of SRO; my primary dilemma is the impact on my wife and kids (3 kids under 6). We have 5 crews, and the ops schedule is a 35 day rotation, 12 hour shifts switching between days and nights. Does this mess with your family? My wife is concerned about losing normalcy and being on a weird schedule that doesn't align with a 5 day work week. I think it will take some getting used to, but it seems like we might just have a new normal.

So what are your thoughts? Is SRO something you'd recommend for someone with a young family?

TVA

Re: SRO Life Balance
« Reply #1 on: Feb 07, 2018, 09:56 »
I did it and would do it all over again.

Offline tolstoy

• Moderate User
« Reply #2 on: Feb 08, 2018, 06:25 »
Every SRO I know has given their life to the company store. Not that that is always bad. But it's always true.

Offline GLW

• Gold Member
  • caveo proditor,...
« Reply #3 on: Feb 08, 2018, 07:09 »
Every SRO I know has given their life to the company store. Not that that is always bad. But it's always true.

every former SRO (hell, even the ones with the "equivalency diploma") that I know in the DnD world is doing quite well for themselves, and their families,...

so, the conjecture would be that even after leaving the "company store", that SRO is worth the investment,...

8)
« Last Edit: Feb 08, 2018, 07:10 by GLW »

been there, dun that,... the doormat to hell does not read "welcome", the doormat to hell reads "it's just business"

TVA