Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu NUPOC Prototype Instructor honeypot

Author Topic: NUPOC Prototype Instructor  (Read 10648 times)

Offline nlara

• Very Lite User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
NUPOC Prototype Instructor
« on: Apr 03, 2018, 09:07 »

Hi everyone,

I recently passed my phone tech interview for the Navy NUPOC program and am going to DC for the rest of my interviews on April 29. I'd just really like to hear some thoughts about the prototype instructor position if anyone has any experience with that.

For background:
  • I'm a sophomore and have a 3.58 GPA from the University of Illinois in Nuclear Engineering. I'm not too happy with my GPA and I would like to have it be higher for the program (especially for instructor), but my recruiter seems to think it's competitive enough since it's from a Tier I school.
  • I originally wanted to join as a SWO/Sub but got medically disqualified. My recruiter was able to get me a waiver for shore duty. I really don't mind either way, but I've been reading a lot of posts lately and it seems like a lot of people seem to kind of look down on the shore duty officers, and a lot of people think it's basically a worthless job. Thoughts?
  • I have an internship for the summer with Exelon, which operates the largest commercial nuclear fleet in the country. My university usually has the most students interning at Exelon in the country, and I've basically been told I'll have a guaranteed full-time job upon graduation if I don't mess up at my internship.
  • I already have full academic scholarships and I would not like to pursue a masters degree, so money or the GI Bill is not an incentive.