Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Best route to become an RCT honeypot

Author Topic: Best route to become an RCT  (Read 6722 times)

makaylav

Best route to become an RCT
« on: May 03, 2018, 05:23 »
I am new to this site and figured id dive right in, fingers are crossed I can get some helpful answers on here.

I moved to SE, NM for my husband 2 years ago. Previously I worked in the Financial industry as a Loan officer and when I moved I got a temp job at WIPP as an Admin.
With it being a completely new industry my learning curve was huge, but I found out that I have a love for the nuclear industry. The other thing I found out was I hated the duties of being an admin and sitting at my desk all day. I was envious of the people doings operations outside and underground.

So I started talking to the RCT's and the Waste Handlers there and really sparked my interest in the field. So now I am looking at becoming an RCT, but have no training or formal education in the area other than picking the brains of the RCT's and reading the training material on my on time.

Luckily my employer let me take Rad Worker so I have a little background knowledge but its not enough to get on board with the department.

My question for you all is, what training can I do online to help me stand out and further myself. Unfortunately in this area nothing is offered in the colleges, so I am limited to online classes.

Any information is better then the little to none I have now, so please feel free to flood me with opinions, tips, and information! It is all appreciated :)

Offline 61nomad

• Moderate User
Re: Best route to become an RCT
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2018, 10:37 »
Thomas Edison State University has an online degree program for a A.S. degree in radiation protection/health physics.  That should be good enough to get you an entry level position at WIPP.

TVA

« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2018, 07:53 »
First apply

Offline hamsamich

• Very Heavy User