NukeWorker Menu R&D
honeypot

Author Topic: R&D  (Read 21318 times)

Offline Skipperooni

• Light User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
R&D
« on: May 26, 2018, 02:13 »
Firstly, I would like to introduce myself and why I am here. My name is Skipperooni. I am 29 years old. I have graduated with a BS (Bull$**t) in chemistry and physics. I am currently a graduate student and research assistant in physics at some crappy state university. I will be done with a master's degree in physics by May of next year.

Here are the reasons why I am interested in the NuPOC program:

(1) I am qualified. I had a high cumulative GPA for my bachelor's degree in two relevant curricula. My graduate GPA is not high, but it's good enough. I have no doubt that I can successfully complete the NuPOC program.

(2) The Navy showed a lot of interest in me. The recruiter drove around 40 miles to speak to me the day after I applied. I had tried to speak to an Army and Air Force recruiter, but they took days to reply to my emails. When they did respond, they sent me a few links and didn't express any interest in me.

(3) I want to serve my country. I had been searching for careers in research and development for defense contractors before applying to the Navy for the same reason. The NuPOC program might not be related to research and development, but at least it is somewhat related to science and engineering.

(4) I want to join for the experience. I've been in school for the last seven some odd years. A lot of what I've read about being a nuclear submarine officer sounds terrible but other things sound cool and exciting. I really want to escape this nightmare that school has become. I want to experience something different. Even though I will have to attend school after getting into the NuPOC program, at least I will be making money, which brings me to my next reason.