Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu What exactly is a Nuke Officer Qualified for? honeypot

Author Topic: What exactly is a Nuke Officer Qualified for?  (Read 23773 times)

allroy

What exactly is a Nuke Officer Qualified for?
« on: Feb 20, 2005, 08:16 »
I am a Naval Officer and have been in submarines for 10 yrs.  Qualified Engineer, QAO for 7 years, Current Sub's Material Manager, etc...what am I qualified for in the civilian world?

Offline RDTroja

• Site Heretic
  • Gold Member
  • I knew I got into IT for a reason!
Re: What exactly is a Nuke Officer Qualified for?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 21, 2005, 08:36 »
What do you want to do? You did not mention a degreee, but if you have one (especially engineering) you are qualified to work your way up to Plant Manager from either an ops position (Shift Technical Advisor comes to mind if you have enough background to get your SRO license) or Engineering. Officers automatically qualify as supervision, often brought in at Manager level - again the degree would be the key.

If you are an Annapolis graduate, there is gold in them thar hills. Just knock your ring on the table during the interview... that is like the secret handshake for the fast track at a lot of plants.  ;)

Seriously, the opportunities are plentiful for someone like you. You could easily head up a QA department. Purchasing also comes to mind. I usually recommend checking the Jobs section of this site (see the tabs at the top of any page) but I am not sure how many jobs here are high enough for you to shoot for.

Good luck and let us know where you land. And remember who sent ya... always nice to have friends in high places.
"I won't eat anything that has intelligent life, but I'd gladly eat a network executive or a politician."

-Marty Feldman

"Politics is supposed to be the second-oldest profession. I have come to understand that it bears a very close resemblance to the first."
                                  -Ronald Reagan