Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Fossil Mechanic Tech

Author Topic: Fossil Mechanic Tech  (Read 10854 times)

Offline Jrcain84

• Very Lite User
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Fossil Mechanic Tech
« on: Aug 06, 2019, 03:08 »
Newbie here. This site is full of so much pertinent information, so thanks to everyone. I have been working with BHI as an Entry Level Turbine Mechanic since last August. Although I've been laid off most of that time, I have been working exclusively in Duke plants. I worked from August 2018 to December 2018, two seperate outages, then was called in to work 3 weeks at a different plant in April 2019. I'm also scheduled to work at Dan River in October of this year. I had another scheduled job starting this month, but it was cancelled. I've been chosen ahead of others working for BHI with more experience, so I know I am doing well. My late father-in-law was a Master Turbine Mechanic with CP&L, Progress, then eventually Duke (buy-outs). His most recent boss from Duke, helped me get on with BHI. I have been working with his old crew through my work with BHI.I applied for a Fossil Mechanic Tech position at the Lark plant (Mt. Holly) and to my surprise, I received an email last week that indicated I am moving forward in the hiring process. I take the MASS test tomorrow. My question is if I pass the test, am I guaranteed an interview? I wonder just how many people applied for this position. It just seems so amazing they chose me to move forward with my limited experience. Mind you, before I had this experience I have applied for many Duke jobs, but always got the dreaded "not interested" email months later. I applied and 19 days later I received the "moving forward" email like a week after the job posting closed. Any words of encouragement are welcome! Or any tips! Also, anyone have an idea of what the starting pay for this type of position is? Thanks!

TVA

Re: Fossil Mechanic Tech
« Reply #1 on: Aug 07, 2019, 01:56 »