Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Transitioning Careers
honeypot

Author Topic: Transitioning Careers  (Read 2620 times)

Offline alimbo62587@gmail.com

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
Transitioning Careers
« on: Apr 28, 2020, 12:30 »
Hello,

Can anyone provide some tips or helpful hints on what possible jobs I may be qualified for as a career transition. I've always had a fascination with the Nuclear Industry and now that my current position as an Airline Pilot is likely coming to an end I'd like to pursue a new career in the Nuclear field. I'd love to one day work in the control room of a plant, but I'm not quite sure what types of school or per-requisite experience is required. I have a Bachelors of Science degree in Aviation and quite a few FAA ratings on various jets, I understand that there's really no correlation to the energy field but I'd like to think I'm intelligent enough to at least hold some form of entry level position at a power plant. Any help to steer this lost bird would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Anthony

Offline MMM

• Very Heavy User
Re: Transitioning Careers
« Reply #1 on: Apr 28, 2020, 06:14 »
One of the big things to remember about nuclear power is that the plants are only in a handful of locations around the US, most of them are rural areas (although major cities are typically an hour or two away), and on the east coast. Also, the entry level positions often don't pay for relocation, so you'd be on your own to get from where ever you live now to the area you want to work.