Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Trying to go from shipyard RCT, to commercial RPT honeypot

Author Topic: Trying to go from shipyard RCT, to commercial RPT  (Read 2219 times)

Offline Lmichalak67

• Lurker
  • Tell Recruiters to use NukeWorker.com
I am currently a 108 qualified radcon tech with Electric Boat, wanting to make the jump to commercial. I am wanting to get a job at Southern Company (plant farley). Im unsure of how to go from a shipyard rct over to the commercial side. Anyone have any tips or ideas that would help me? I qualified last month (dec 2020). No prior military, just 2 years prior to radcon in industrial radiography. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Rennhack

• Forum Administrator
Re: Trying to go from shipyard RCT, to commercial RPT
« Reply #1 on: Jan 09, 2021, 06:30 »
I am currently a 108 qualified radcon tech with Electric Boat, wanting to make the jump to commercial. I am wanting to get a job at Southern Company (plant farley). Im unsure of how to go from a shipyard rct over to the commercial side. Anyone have any tips or ideas that would help me? I qualified last month (dec 2020). No prior military, just 2 years prior to radcon in industrial radiography. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Look for a job posting for Southern, and apply for it.  It's just that simple.

Offline Al Eidson

• Moderate User
« Reply #2 on: Jan 10, 2021, 11:47 »
I worked with a lot of tech from EB over the years. The field is wide open for you. Just about all the supervisors at Turkey point had worked there. Good luck.

Offline Lmichalak67

• Lurker
« Reply #3 on: Jan 10, 2021, 06:22 »
I dont need anymore qualifications aside from having my NAVSEA108 qual?

Offline Marlin

• Forum Staff
  • Stop Global Whining!!!
« Reply #4 on: Jan 10, 2021, 06:55 »

That is up to the utility but follow this link for a guide.

https://www.nukeworker.com/forum/index.php?topic=4395.0

Offline Rennhack

• Forum Administrator