Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu I'm In!
honeypot

Author Topic: I'm In!  (Read 23615 times)

Steel Shark

Re: I'm In!
« Reply #25 on: Feb 12, 2005, 01:14 »
I know the Nuke program is demanding from what I've heard.  I'm a meteorology student at Oklahoma and our program is so demanding that we typcially start out with around 150-175 and only about 30-40 of those make it through the program.  What are the statistics like for the Nuke program?  How many people get accepted versus how many actually make it through?  What makes the Nuke program so hard?  Is it moreso the amount of work, or is it the difficulty of the material?  What are some good tips to help ensure success getting through the program?

WXMel,

Some of this is already discussed above.  As I perused through the thread, I noted a lot of questions and a couple of answers that recent policy has changed.  Please keep in mind throughout this response that I believe the Navy Nuclear Power pipeline is a great career start for intelligent hardworking young folkes, but I'm not a recruiter (to each his/her own).   :)

Just out of curiousity, what rate is your boyfriend?   ???

The best way to make it through is certainly noted in the thread ... hard work.  The program used to have statistics of 33-50% attrition.  No more. As Adidas noted, it is now around 10% with academics less than 5%.   If you want to make it through, you will.  The majority of the losses now are drugs, underage drinking (repeated offenses which leads to your reliability to operate a nuclear reactor, and the inability to obtain a clearance due to debt, pre-service offenses, etc.).  Very few drops due to academics (most of these are realistically lack of motivation).   ;D