Help | Contact Us
NukeWorker.com
NukeWorker Menu Newbie Questions honeypot

Author Topic: Newbie Questions  (Read 11029 times)

jamesd

Newbie Questions
« on: Apr 12, 2005, 11:51 »
Sorry, if this isn't the right place for this thread, but it seems like the home of everything that doesn't belong somewhere else.

I am new to the field with one outage under my belt and have a few questions that I would like to run past you guys:
(Just think of me as your favorite little brother, or as the guy who is going to take of your favorite sister so that she and the dozen kids don't have to come live off of you. 8))

01)  In your opinion, what is the best position/job class to try to get into, why and how.
   01a)  BTW, is turbine work a good place to be?  (My next job is as a laborer on the turbine crew)

02)  What companies would you suggest trying to work for, and which to avoid and why.

03) Starting out from scratch today, where/what do you recommend that I try to get into, how and why.

If it sounds a little of to you for me to be asking . . . sorry, but nothing ventured, nothing gained and so on.

Thanks

shayne

Re: Newbie Questions
« Reply #1 on: Apr 13, 2005, 12:26 »
Welcome to nukeworker.com. 

Keep reading the Career Section of the Forum.  You will find that some of these questions have been asked and answered.  Continue to ask your questions.  Plenty of people here with different backgrounds and experience to help.

It sounds like you do have your foot in the door which is a good start.  As a Laborer, you will see many different jobs.  Try to find what interests you and make some contacts.

Offline RDTroja

• Site Heretic
  • Gold Member
  • I knew I got into IT for a reason!
« Reply #2 on: Apr 13, 2005, 08:25 »